

### www.ohiosci.org

#### **OAS NEWSLETTER - SUMMER 2019, PART I**

Dear Members, Friends and Volunteers:

The spring is a time to celebrate year-long research projects, capstones, and the opportunity to present new findings. Among the many benefits is the development of new professional and personal relationships that last a lifetime.

If you presented research, mentored projects, volunteered as a judge, or shared other skills in a service capacity, thank you for advancing the interest of science by teaching and encouraging the next generation of STEM talent.

### The National Youth Science Camp (NYSC)

Ms. Claudia Hamilton, of the Hawken School (Gates Mills) and Ms. Anru Tian, of Athens High School (Athens) have been selected as the two most promising young scientific leaders in Ohio's 2019 high school graduating class. At the invitation of Governor Jim Justice of West Virginia, they will participate as delegates in the 57th year of the National Youth Science Camp held near the Green Bank Observatory in West Virginia. The Ohio Academy of Science is Governor DeWine's designee for selecting Ohio's student delegates.

Claudia Hamilton (Hawken School) is a National Merit Scholar that has completed student research internships with the Cleveland Clinic Lerner Research Institute and the University of Akron College of Polymer Science. In 2018, Claudia was named a Top 300 Scholar in the Regeneron Science Talent Search and she has competed at the International Science & Engineering Fair, and the National Junior Science and Humanities Symposium. Ms. Hamilton is a first chair violinist in the Cleveland Orchestra Youth Orchestra. Claudia is the Editor-in Chief of Affirmative No, Hawken School's student newspaper.

Anru Tian (Athens High School) is a member of the Wyatt Lab, Ohio University where she has completed a number of independent research projects in plant sciences. Ms. Tian was selected by the Ohio State University Supercomputer

Center as a student researcher where she collaborated with other students and professionals to examine the existence of dark matter through image analysis and computer coding. In 2018, Anru competed at the International Science & Engineering Fair, winning a 4th Award in Plant Sciences. Ms. Tian competed in Varsity Tennis and is Associate Editor or The Matrix, an Athens HS student publication.







Anru Tian

### The Buckeye Science and Engineering Fair

On April 6th, a total of 97 students (88 projects) presented at the Buckeye Science and Engineering Fair. These exceptional students were competing for the opportunity to advance their project to the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair. BSEF was hosted by CAS and is sponsored by the AEP Foundation and Ethicon.





The 2019 Buckeye Science and Engineering Fair participants photographed at CAS, Columbus, OH.



The 2019 BSEF finalists (from left to right), Michael Woytek (Executive Director - OAS), Virginia Ma (Columbus Academy, Columbus), Prashamsa Koirala (Ottawa Hills HS, Ottawa Hills), Govind Nadathur and Arvind Prasad (Sycamore HS, Cincinnati), Mohini Parvate (Dublin Jerome HS, Dublin), Leon Wu (Upper Arlington HS, Upper Arlington), and missing from the picture is Leena Vyas (Tippecanoe HS, Tipp City).

Virginia Ma received a 2nd Award, and Govind Nadathur and Arvind Prasad received a 4th Award at ISEF 2019, in their respective judging categories.

Thank you to each of the BSEF sponsors.







# The Governor's Thomas Edison Awards for Excellence in STEM Education and Student Research - Call for Applications

First established in 1985, The Governor's THOMAS EDISON Awards for Excellence in STEM Education and Student Research are presented to Ohio schools and teachers who stimulate student originated, inquiry-based science education, and technological design and extend STEM education beyond traditional classroom activities. Application are due by June 21, 2019 and must be submitted by the school's principal.

**CRITERIA FOR SCHOOL AND TEACHER AWARDS** 

**APPLICATION SUBMISSION** 

**THE 2018 AWARDEES** 

### The OAS Annual Meeting

COLUMBUS STATE

The 128th Annual Meeting of The Ohio

Academy of Science was held at Columbus

State Community College on Saturday, April 13.

Ms. Patricia Gabrenya, was the event coordinator and local hostess. There were a total of 117 research projects that were presented both orally and in poster sessions.



The All-Academy lecture was a panel discussion, Lake Erie: Ohio's Great Lake-Status, Trends, and Threats. This exceptional discussion was moderated by Dr. Douglas Kane, Defiance College (back row), and consisted of (L/R) Dr. Thomas Bridgeman, University of Toledo, Dr. Timothy Davis, Bowling Green State University, and Dr. Silvia Newell, Wright State University.



**All-Academy Lecture** 



Oral presentations at the Workforce Development Center, Columbus State CC.

### **OAS Undergraduate Research Award**

Miranda Ghrist and Evan Kolodey were both recognized as Ohio Academy of Science Undergraduate Research Awardees for their *Numerical Solutions of Heat Transfer Models to Determine Thermal Properties of Novel Insulating Materials for Hypersonic Aerospace Applications*.

Pictured with Miranda and Evan are Michael Woytek (OAS-Executive Director and Dr. Regan Silvestri, Lorain County Community College.



## THE OHIO ACADEMY OF SCIENCE ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND TRUSTEES

The 2019 election results were announced at the OAS Business Meeting on April 13, 2019 (Annual Meeting - Columbus State Community College).

President, Vicki A. Motz, PhD - Ohio Northern University
President Elect, Rodney Sheets - USGS
Past President, Kerry Cheesman, PhD - Capital University
Secretary, Angela McMurry - Arcanum High School
Treasurer, Pete Harlan, - U.S. Air Force
Director, Junior Academy Council, Martin English, DVM
Editor, Ohio Journal of Science, Lynn Elfner, PhD (Retired OAS-CEO Emeritus)

Trustees, Academia At-Large

John Hoag, PhD - Ohio University Cordula Mora, PhD - Bowling Green State University Claire McLeod, PhD - Miami University Christina O'Malley, PhD - Carroll High School

**Trustees, Government At-Large** 

Richard Benz, Science Consultant (Retired Educator) Norm Fausey, PhD - Retired USDA Charles Flower, PhD - US Forest Service

Trustees, Industry At-Large

Nick Fendinger, PhD - Proctor and Gamble Miles Free, Precision Machined Products Association Ryan Paul, PhD - GrafTech International Rusty Rush, Charles River Laboratories

# Ohio Academy of Science - Become a Member, Donor, or Sponsor

The membership of The Ohio Academy of Science is as diverse as the science taking place in Ohio. Please consider joining the OAS to support science and education in Ohio.

#### **MEMBERSHIP APPLICATION**

If you are interested in making a donation to support the Academy

#### MAKE A DONATION

For those individuals and organization interested in sponsoring programs like The Buckeye Science and Engineering Fair or State Science Day, please send an email inquiry to <a href="mailto:info@ohiosci.org">info@ohiosci.org</a> or call 614-389-2182.

The next newsletter will be all things State Science Day!!!

Please share this email with your colleagues that may be interested, and contact us anytime for more information.

Sincerely,

Michael E. Woytek, Executive Director

alle Worth

The Ohio Academy of Science.

The Ohio Academy of Science | www.ohiosci.org

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay informed on everything going on at the Academy!



